Scottish long jumper Jade Nimmo blogs about her experience in Glasgow

Jade Nimmo

I was invited to the young leader interviews in Glasgow on 15 November, and I wasn’t sure what to expect. But I have to say it exceeded any of my expectations. All athlete mentors arrived for 9am to welcome the young leaders – some had big smilles and others seemed a little apprehensive – but we made them feel welcome. I noticed a few familiar faces from the team building day in Linlithgow with the Action for Children group. It was a good chance to find out what they had been up to since the last time we had met, and nice that some of the girls were asking me how my winter training was going.

While waiting for the young leaders to come out from their interviews, the first boy came out looking relived. He was saying how nervous he was and the interviewer had asked “why he was sitting on his hands?” His reason being that his mum told him to because he is such a big fidget!. I found this hilarious because my mum is always saying the exact same thing to my younger brother Taylor.

I found the whole day extremely rewarding, seeing the young leaders smiling and working together. It was a great day filled with lots of activities and laughs and overall it went very well with  everyone pitching in. Can’t wait to meet everyone again next time!

Leave a Reply

